Pink Slip

Beauty in the day: he came in at 8:01. “Miss Nordstrom, my mom thought I was really late, so-”

“Great news!” I interrupted. “You’re not late! Go line up!”

“But,” he began again. “My mom thought I was really late, and she said I need to get one of those pink passes!”

“Good news!” I exclaimed, with great energy. “She was mistaken, and you don’t need a pass! Go line up!”

He turned to leave, but walked s.l.o.w.l.y. toward the office table, his shoulders somewhat slumped.

“Wait, Friend! Don’t go yet!” I hurried to get a pink pass and pen. “You really ought to take this with you, actually.”

Taking it, he practically skipped out. He made the line just prior to the ringing bell.

#pinkslipgetsanewmeaning

Leave a Reply

