Remembering to Remember

Beauty in the day: he is 6. He comes every day with a myriad of things to discuss, and today we made some very good progress at coming less, and having the confidence to work things out on his own. But then he had a problem that he needed help with, and he was back.
“I’m having trouble remembering all the things that I need to remember sometimes.” (well, who doesn’t?) “I think I need help to get a strategy to remember the things.”
Hmmmmm….
“Well Friend, it seems to me that you do a very fine job of remembering things, because you come and tell me LOTS of stuff that you remember and are thinking about. So I think you’re doing just great.”
He had an argument for that, but if you think I was caught off-guard by THAT, you’re just silly.
“The thing is, Friend, that you are getting very grown up. You are getting older and wiser, and you are coming up with better and better ideas all the time.” That was just the ammunition he needed.
“Yes, actually, that’s a thing that sort of refers to what I was talking about, see. I’ve heard that when people get older, they start to forget things.” (cue comedy drum)
The little weasel. I gave him what-for and sent him back to class. He was grinning with delight at his walkaway comedy moment. Honestly, he didn’t mean it as a comedy moment, but he liked the way it went over with the middle-aged crowd.

Leave a Reply

